Music Organizations and Institutions in Europe

The enlargement of the European Union brought increased intensity to international cooperation in the cultural field. The section on music organisations and institutions in European countries is an attempt to bring some transparency into the complexity of the musical world in Europe and make it easier for you to find your way around when seeking information. The information supplied concentrates on associations, specialised organisations, political agencies and information sources operating on a European scale who gather data and facts on music at an overarching level; it does not include individual orchestras, operatic and musical companies, festivals, training institutions, competitions, etc. These details can be obtained from the organisations listed in the sub-sections that follow. Organisations engaged in music work abroad and involved in culture exchange and cultural PR activity are detailed elsewhere.

Under the first heading you will find the European Music Council and the National Committees belonging to it. The National Committees are responsible for promoting and cultivating music in their various countries with differing areas of emphasis and represent their countries’ musical affairs in the International Music Council.

There follows a list of European and international associations, federations, societies and foundations that have their headquarters or local office in Europe. Corresponding organisations based in Germany are – like the German offices of international and European associations – listed in detail under the heading Associations, Federations, Societies (Germany).

The description of government agencies and cultural policy bodies at the European level is restricted in the first instance to institutions of the European Union and the European Council. There is a wealth of introductory material on the structure and functioning of the European Union and other European organisations both in the internet and in book form (see under Literature). Detailed information on the staffing of the cultural bodies in the legislative and execute is available from, inter alia, the Electronic Directory of the European Institutions (IDEA) under http://europa.eu/whoiswho. Inaddition to the institutes listed here, there are numerous other organisations with cultural policy relevance, particularly at the regional level in Europe, which can be reached via the literature detailed.

The sub-section on international music information centres lists the members of the International Association of Music Information Centres (IAMIC). Because of the differences in musical development and infrastructure in their countries, the music information centres have differing responsibilities and areas of focus, ranging from the presentation and promotion of contemporary music and work in the fields of jazz and popular music and the dissemination of a wide range of information. In addition to the music information centres organised in the IAMIC, there are further centres listed that are involved in the music life of their respective countries. Centres with an international focus are listed under the country in which they are based or have their local office. Not included are national music libraries, music archives and music documentation centres and specialised information services that are devoted to specific aspects of music. These institutes can be located via the music information centres or the National Music Councils. You will find information and documentation services in Germany that supply information on specific aspects of music in Germany under the section Music Organisations and Research and Documentation.

Reference works on music which are now available in many European countries and often have detailed descriptions of the structure of national music in the individual countries are detailed in the following sub-section. We have only included reference works that appear at periodic intervals and more recent publications that cover a broad spectrum, not however specialised directories which are available in some countries for some specific aspects of music. International directories precede the detailing of national publications.

Organisationen und Einrichtungen des Musiklebens in Europa

Mit der Erweiterung der Europäischen Union hat die internationale Zusammenarbeit auch auf kulturellem Gebiet an Intensität gewonnen. Das Kapitel Organisationen und Einrichtungen im Musikleben der europäischen Länder stellt einen Versuch dar, die mittlerweile erreichte Komplexität des Musiklebens in Europa transparenter zu machen und die Orientierung bei der Informationssuche zu erleichtern. Aufgeführt werden vorrangig europaweit tätige Verbände, Fachorganisationen und politische Gremien sowie Informationsstellen, die Daten und Fakten zum Musikleben auf einer übergeordneten Ebene bündeln, nicht jedoch die einzelnen Orchester, Musiktheater, Festspiele, Ausbildungsstätten, Musikwettbewerbe u. a. Diese können über die in den folgenden Rubriken angegebenen Einrichtungen in Erfahrung gebracht werden. Einrichtungen der musikalischen Auslandsarbeit, die dem kulturellen Austausch und der Kulturvermittlung dienen, sind gesondert ausführlich dargestellt.

Die erste Rubrik stellt den Europäischen Musikrat mit den ihm angeschlossenen Nationalkomitees dar. Die Nationalkomitees nehmen in ihren Ländern Aufgaben der Musikförderung und Musikpflege mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten wahr und vertreten das Musikleben ihres Landes im Internationalen Musikrat.

Anschließend werden europäische und internationale Verbände, Vereinigungen und Gesellschaften aufgeführt, die ihren Sitz bzw. ihre Geschäftsstelle in Europa haben und die europaweit bzw. länderübergreifend tätig sind. Nicht aufgeführt sind Gesellschaften und Vereinigungen, die sich der Verbreitung und Pflege des Werks einzelner Musiker widmen. Entsprechende Organisationen mit Sitz in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland sind – ebenso wie die deutschen Sektionen internationaler und europäischer Verbände – in der Rubrik Verbände, Vereinigungen, Gesellschaften (Deutschland) ausführlich dargestellt.

Die Darstellung der Behörden und kulturpolitische Gremien auf der europäischen Ebene beschränkt sich auf Institutionen der Europäischen Union und den Europarat. Zu Aufbau und Funktionsweise der Europäischen Union und anderer europäischer Organisationen existiert eine Fülle an einführender Literatur sowohl im Internet als auch in Buchform, auf die hier verwiesen sei. Detaillierte Informationen über die personelle Besetzung auch der kulturpolitisch relevanten Gremien in Legislative und Exekutive enthält insbesondere das Elektronische Verzeichnis der Europäischen Institutionen (IDEA) unter http://europa.eu/whoiswho. Neben den hier aufgeführten Einrichtungen gibt es vor allem auch auf der Ebene der Regionen in Europa zahlreiche weitere Organisationen und Gremien mit kulturpolitischer Relevanz.

In der Rubrik Internationale Musikinformationszentren werden die Mitglieder der International Association of Music Information Centres (IAMIC) aufgeführt. Die Musikinformationszentren haben ausgehend von der musikalischen Entwicklung und Infrastruktur ihrer Länder unterschiedliche Aufgaben und Arbeitsschwerpunkte ausgeprägt, die von der Dokumentation und Förderung zeitgenössischer Musik über die Arbeit in den Bereichen Jazz und Popularmusik bis zur Vermittlung breit angelegter Information über das Musikleben reichen. Neben den in der IAMIC organisierten Musikinformationszentren werden weitere Informationszentren genannt, soweit sie sich mit dem Musikleben ihres jeweiligen Landes befassen. International orientierte Zentren werden unter dem Land aufgeführt, in dem sie ihren Sitz bzw. ihre Geschäftsstelle haben. Nicht berücksichtigt sind die nationalen Musikbibliotheken, Musikarchive und Musikdokumentationszentren sowie spezielle Informationsstellen, die sich mit Teilgebieten des Musiklebens befassen. Die entsprechenden Institute können jedoch über die Musikinformationszentren oder die nationalen Musikräte recherchiert werden. Informations- und Dokumentationsstellen in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, die über bestimmte Teilgebiete des Musiklebens informieren, finden sich in den Rubriken Organisationen des Musiklebens und Forschung und Dokumentation.

Nachschlagewerke zum Musikleben, die mittlerweile in einer Vielzahl europäischer Länder existieren und z. T. detaillierte Strukturdarstellungen des nationalen Musiklebens enthalten, werden in der folgenden Rubrik aufgeführt. Berücksichtigt werden dabei nur periodisch erscheinende Nachschlagewerke sowie neuere Einzelpublikationen, die ein breites Spektrum abdecken, nicht jedoch Spezialverzeichnisse, die in einigen Ländern auch für Teilbereiche des Musiklebens vorliegen. Internationale Verzeichnisse sind der Aufführung der nationalen Publikationen vorangestellt.

 

 

 

MyMIZ

alle Einträge im Detail anzeigen

kein Eintrag vorhanden

cookie: Mappe löschen

» MyMIZ Daten speichern/laden